What a fantastic field visit we had at the Royal Alberta Museum!  A HUGE thank you to our parent volunteers who were able to help us on this day.  For the first forty-five minutes, the students explored the museum's galleries in small groups (led by teachers and volunteers).  We then met in the lunch room for a quick snack break.

The last hour was spent in the discovery room.  This is a special room for school bookings, with changing hands-on exhibits for children.  As you will see from the photos below, the kids were busy with all sorts of activities relating to prehistoric times.

Morning Class

Following our field visit, we asked the children to reflect on their experience.  We guided this discussion by asking them to think about what they liked, what they didn't like, what they wondered about, etc.  During our community circle, each child shared their thoughts on their time at the Royal Alberta Museum.  
  • Rayyan: I wonder if Spineosaurus has teeth?
  • Luka: There was a lot of dinosaurs and the King of the dinosaurs is Tyrranosaurus Rex and he’s my very favourite. I was mad he wasn’t there.
  • Megan: I wonder if the T-Rex’s sharp teeth were flat teeth?
  • Leia: I didn’t know what that green dinosaur was called.
  • Nathan: I liked the fishies and I liked playing with the computers, they were so fun.
  • Amelie: I liked when we went to the butterflies.
  • Tobias: I liked playing on the computers with Augustus.
  • Gabriella: I liked everything.
  • Augustus: I liked playing on the computers.
  • Jasper: I like going to the museum and I sometimes go there, and there’s some scary parts, and sometimes they talk, and my cousins go there, and there’s a scene where they are killing the buffalo. I’m telling you all the parts of the Aboriginal part so that you know. And then there’s a dark and spooky part where you see their clothes, and then there’s a secret hall you go in, and then you walk through and it’s light again.

Afternoon Class

Following our field visit, we asked the children to reflect on their experience.  We guided this discussion by asking them to think about what they liked, what they didn't like, what they wondered about, etc.  During our community circle, each child shared their thoughts on their time at the Royal Alberta Museum. 


  • Aroh: My group went to the Aboriginal part of the museum, and I was too scared to go where the dinosaurs were, so instead I looked at some rocks.  Kinan saw a beetle that looked scary. 
  • Seth: I was scared about the dinosaurs and I liked to see the bug animals.
  • Jesse: The T-Rex: I thought it was real at first when I was little.  But suddenly, I thought it wasn’t real. Then when we were at the museum at Drumheller there was a huge T-Rex.  There’s nothing that I think about there.  I liked the T-Rex, and I liked dinosaurs - how big they are. I liked that.
  • Kinan: I love to play in the room, and I loved that those big dinosaurs. And I liked those fishy.
  • Elisha: I liked where we could dig in that hard rock and find bones.  Me and my Mom are going to make that with pastry one day.
  • Finn: I like the Indians the best at the museum.
  • Kaliko: I liked the T-Rex and the dinosaurs, but I didn’t like the bugs.
  • Samantha: I like to go on the swing and have fun, and I want to go back there again.
  • Cooper: I forgot all the things yesterday, so I will tell about today. It’s Bridget’s visit day so after she left we will go to gymnastics. I always forget that.

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.